An End Is A Beginning

I wish I could

Go back in time

To when it was sweet, sunshiny spring.

Butterflies colored our days

And fireflies lit up our nights

What then is this wintry wind?

This fog so thick I can’t see a thing

Slipping, falling, I reach out calling

But, you’re not there

Despairing, I fall,

As I lay there I recall

Your words when you said

“I’m for a season in time, you will leave or maybe I.”

Realisation clears the fog

I must put shoulder to the wheel

Round the bend and a little uphill

I see you there, heart racing I run

Because you’re looking at me

Drawing close, my steps fail

You look, but see right through me

My heaving breast breaks the lone tear’s fall

You turn away, to where your new love calls.

10 thoughts on “An End Is A Beginning

  1. Oh dear…that hurts!
    Hope, beautiful and yet ugly..
    Hope makes us believe the good things would last forever
    And then it stands over us and mock
    When things go awry…
    Hope…keeps us going
    But also sets us up for a fall…
    Life, love, twisted something.

    Hey ma’am, what’s with these sad pieces? Whence cometh this wintry wind to this summer island and paradise of love?

Leave a Reply

