Free

I packed my clothes in a box,
Not that I knew where to go.
But, I was sure, my feet would take me,
Take me there
Somehow, sometime, someday,but, now
All I needed was to go
Far, fast, forward, just go.
I had it all figured out
Written on a blackboard in my head
But sleep had wiped it clean
Or was it that horrible dream?
I looked at my lone chair
My companion for many nights,
Chair, where I’d fought many fights
And at the end of the game,
I always lost the ball.
My bare foot needed a shoe
This journey might have to be made on foot
My purse’s bowels were full
Of nothing but air.
I didn’t have a car
And even that wouldn’t take me far
For rest, I’d surely find a tree
Whose branches would welcome me
For free, to sleep, refresh, and keep
Going on my way.
I stepped over the crushed beer can,
It rattled against its brothers
Last night they had made love to my my mind, no, my mouth and belly,
Lulling me to sleep.
I took one last look in the mirror
As I lifted the cup to my lips
Weak coffee washed down my fears – about life,
Fear of sex just needed a condom
And the fear of death vanished at the thought of money.
I set the cup down on the table,
Turned the key in the lock and was gone
With all my world’s possessions –
An empty purse, a box of clothes and a condom.

9 thoughts on “Free

  1. “All I needed was to go
    Far, fast, forward,” forever was what I added.
    There’s no need to remain in church when the mass is over…just go…
    Nice one as usual. Good diction, rhyme and cohesion

  2. This…this is really good. The images painted is vivid, the state of man at his wits end…a man determined not to give up…to keep fighting, living and surviving.

  3. I looked at my lone chair
    My companion for many nights,
    Chair, where I’d fought many fights…I love this girl.

Leave a Reply

